Cheers to 2014 :: the first playlist

albumlockup

Happy new year, friends and lovers. As I said last year, I hope you ended 2013 with no regrets and started 2014 with no reservations. I can say with 100% certainty that I’ve never been so happy for a year to be over, and for a new one to be beginning.

Does that sound emo? Maybe it is, but it’s just the truth.

It’s been interesting to hear what the talking-heads of the music industry are saying in regards to their predictions for 2014. I’m expecting more collaborations between artists, and more integration with other art forms (i.e. what Pharrell did with “Happy”). What I’m really hoping for is a shift toward artists taking a leading role in directing their own “brand” – what their music sounds like, looks like, feels like, and how they share it with the outside world. I hate to use the word “brand” but…it is what it is.

Regardless of whether any of this comes true, one thing is for sure: 2014 will be full of new music, and I’ll be here to share the good stuff with all of you. To kick things off, here are the top 12 songs that will have my ears ringing in the new year. (Scroll for the spotify playlist).

#1. Cash Cash – Take Me Home
In case Clarity is getting a little old for you, here’s your next EDM favorite.

#2. Bad Suns – Cardiac Arrest
A little alterna-jam that I actually like.

#3. Jedi Mind Tricks – Bust Em In
These guys are actually really terrifying. But also, so good.

#4. SoMo – Letters
This guy is like 2014’s Craig David. You can decide for yourself if that’s good or bad.

#5. City and Colour – Thirst
Hello, I’m in Delaware is one of my all time favorites. This is a different sound for these guys.

#6. Stevie Wonder – I Wish
A dear friend just re-introduced me to this album. If it doesn’t make you dance, you must be dead.

#7. Dayshell – I Owe You Nothing
Okay, I’ve actually been listening to this all fall. But I don’t plan to stop. Separate post coming soon.

#8. Angel Haze – Dirty Gold
Awesome lady rapper. Check out her collaboration with Sia too.

#9. Young the Giant – It’s About Time
Loving their new album. This song is so much heavier than Cough Syrup and St. Walker.

#10. Childish Gambino – V.3005
Late to the Gambino-train, but he was awesome at Life is Beautiful.

#11. Elle Varner feat. J Cole – Only Wanna Give it to You
Sounds like a jazzier Corinne Bailey Rae. Sexy.

#12. Tritonal – Electric Glow
More EDM, more electronic-y than Cash Cash. Guest vocal by Skyler Stonestreet is so sweet.

Categories: Sunday Playlist

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 replies

  1. Reblogged this on creative writting and commented:
    Music that can inspire!

  2. 2014 already off to a good start as a result of reading your first entry. Looking forward to many more throughout the year. Please keep ’em coming!!

Leave a Reply

